

NATIONAL AWARDS RECIPIENTS

*As of June, 2025

NAWBO Hall of Fame Award

Every year, during the National Women's Business Conference hosted by NAWBO, our organization is proud to present Hall of Fame Awards to some of the most dynamic and significant women business owners and advocates in the U.S. Every honoree is a trailblazer in her own right and reflects the legacy of power and success of the women's business community at large.

2011

- Janice Bryant Howroyd
- Koni Kim
- Lynda Weinman
- Maria De Lourdes Sobrino

2012

Katrina Markoff

2013

- Charlotee Beers
- Alexis Maybank
- Gina Rudan
- Alexandra Wilkis Wilson

2014

- Erin Andrew
- Muffy Davis
- Susan Duffy
- Katherine Kallinis Berman
- Sophie Kallinis LaMontagne
- JJ Ramberg
- Susan Solovic

2015

- Bonnie St John
- Leigh Anne Tuohy
- Suzanne Pease Unsung Hero Award

2016

- Jenn Lim
- Kim Reynolds
- Charleta B. Taveras
- Jennette Bradley
- Dr. Tererai Trent



2017

- Gayle Lemmon
- Blair Milo
- Kristin Haffert
- Erin Brockovich
- Carolyn Rodz

2018

- Elizabeth Gilbert
- Shabnam Mogharabi

2019

- Tiffany Dufu
- Sophia Amoruso

2020

• Glennon Doyle

2021

- Jessica Matthews
- Diana Nyad
- Cleo Wade

2022

- Molly Bloom
- Magie Cook
- Vera Jones

2023

- Mei Xu
- Dr. Martha Beck

2025

- Ashley Judd
- Cynthia "Cynt" Marshall

Susan Hager Legacy Award

The Susan Hager Legacy Award began in 2010 in honor of NAWBO's founding president (1974-1975), Susan Hager. Susan was a stalwart champion of women's economic empowerment and built a legacy for others to follow. The Susan Hager Legacy Award gives honor to a person or group of persons who, through their advocacy and actions, helped to establish the legacy of women's entrepreneurship for future generations.

Awardees:

2010 Virginia Littlejohn

2015 Patty DeDominic

2016 Dottie Gandy



2017 Darla Beggs

2018 Griselda Quezada-Chavez

2019 Teresa Meares

2020 Phyllis Hill Slater

2021 Joy Lutes

2022 Michele Schina

2023 Ana Fernandez-Parmet

2025 Suzanne Pease

Gillian Rudd Advocacy Award

The Gillian Rudd Advocacy Award recognizes a women business owner who has made a significant contribution to the status and visibility of women-owned firms and to the empowerment of women entrepreneurs both nationally and internationally. This award is in honor of Gillian Rudd, who served as NAWBO's national president (1987-1988) and contributed both strategy and personal charm to NAWBO's early advocacy activities. Gillian was instrumental in helping NAWBO establish the National Foundation for Women Business Owners—now known as the Center for Women's Business Research.

Awardees:

2010 Dr. Terry Neese

2016 Laura Yamanaka

2017 Monica Smiley

2018 Dr. Patricia Greene

2019 Jill Calabrese Bain

2020 Edie Fraser

2021 Irene Natividad

2022 Anne Freedman

2023 Carnela Renee Hill

2025 Terry Bradley Dunn

Woman Business Owner of the Year Award

The NAWBO National Woman Business Owner of the Year Award recognizes an entrepreneur who excels at strategy, operations, finances, problem solving, overcoming adversity and giving back to her community. It's not based on business size, but rather overall business excellence. * Launched in 2016

Awardees:

2016 Didi Discar

2017 Kim Heathcott

2018 Francine Friedman Griesling, Esq.

2019 Gail Becker, Caulipower

2020 Rebecca Fyffe

2021 Carla Walker-Miller



2022 Moira Vetter

2023 Rebecca Geller

2024 Amalia Moreno-Damgaard

2025 Aquila Mendez-Valdez

Dr Trent Award

Dr. Trent's life has been an incredible story of pushing beyond the reality of her circumstances and making dreams come true through hard work, perseverance, and grit. Her achievements and initiatives bring the highest level of measure when we look at what women can overcome and bring forth. Those honored with the Dr. Tererai Trent Award should have similar triumphs and traits as Dr. Trent and exemplify "Tinogona – It is achievable!" * Launched in 2017

Awardees:

2017 Heather McCarthy

2018 Dana Marlowe

2019 Tinesha Cherry

2020 Tammy Renee Butler

--- No more ---

Advocacy Award

NAWBO Advocacy Award honors a woman business owner that advocates for the advancement of the women business owner community in a bipartisan spirit. She is a voice of collaboration and effectively presents or moves legislation, regulation reform or new initiatives forward. Her efforts as a public servant are not limited to the issues that directly affect her business or community. Instead, she uses her platform to bring to light the needs of those who may not have a similar opportunity to raise their voices. The vision and goals of her advocacy set the stage for further advancements for women business owners now and in the future. *Launched in 2020

Awardees:

2020 Linda Forman

2021 Lisa Fullerton

2022 Rohini Dey

--- No more ---

Rising Star Award

NAWBO Rising Star Award honors a woman business owner that, through creativity and innovation, is building sustainable growth in her economic and social ecosystem. She utilizes her growing platform as a social entrepreneur to propel her generation and future women business owners, regardless of their age or social standing. *Launched in 2021

Awardees:



2021 Anna Welsh
2022 Lorena Camargo
--- No more ---

Member of the Year Award

The NAWBO Member of the Year is a Premier member who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to her chapter and who has consistently given of her time and resources to the betterment of the local NAWBO experience. She is *peer-nominated* and has strengthened the image and role of NAWBO in the public and/or private sector. She gives of herself to individuals within her chapter as well as to the committee(s) on which she serves. She makes her colleagues glad and grateful that they are in the same organization.

Awardees:

2021 Sandra Clitter 2022 Angela Garmon --- No more ---