April-May 2022: Virtual Programming Connects and Supports You | NAWBO

Tap into these upcoming no-cost programs to connect, learn and grow!


Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Belonging (DEI&B) Events

DEI&B Open Forum

Friday, April 22, 2022 at 9 a.m. PT/11 a.m. CT/12 p.m. ET

DEI&B work is about race, age, sexual orientation, business size and so much more—let’s talk about it during our second forum. Our committee members and consultant will briefly share where we are in our goal of being recognized as the most inclusive and diverse women’s business organization by 2025. Then, we’ll open it up to dialogue, so plan to join us for this important conversation as it will take each and every one of us to ensure that all women feel they belong at NAWBO.

REGISTER HERE


 

DEI&B Circles

Returning on Thursday, April 28 at 3 p.m. PT/5 p.m. CT/6 p.m. ET

Studies show that DEI&B awareness can increase your business productivity and bottom line. Join NAWBO and the National Federation for Just Communities (NFJC) of WNY, Inc. for a monthly virtual series of DEI&B Circle events that promote awareness through facilitated CANDID CONVERSATIONS. These are designed to help you:

• Feel empowered and confident with DEI&B issues and terms.

• Grow more self-aware, which increases cross collaboration and enhances communication with your employees and customers.

• Increase YOUR business productivity and bottom line.

REGISTER NOW BY CLICKING THE DATES BELOW (THEN ADDING THEM TO YOUR CALENDAR)

April 28, 2022
May 26, 2022


 

Connect and Learn Events

Every other Tuesday at 9 a.m. PT/11 a.m. CT/12 p.m. ET
Presented By NAWBO Premier Members Nationwide

Learn best practices and tools to help you in your business as well as focus on ways to promote self-care. During each event, we will have the opportunity to use our virtual lounge to connect with one another before the event starts and meet and greet with our speaker for the last 15 minutes of the hour we spend together. Join us to learn, connect and be inspired!

Next up:

Tuesday, April 26
Small Business Grants—What You Need to Know to Apply

Presented by Arlene Siller

REGISTER HERE

Learn myths and realities of small business grants, where and how to find grants and application tips to increase your chances of being successful.

A grant writing, fundraising expert, Arlene started her grant writing career over 27 years ago. Eight years ago, she transitioned her expertise and ability into the nonprofit sector, where she raised over $35 million in four years for a multi-state organization and found her calling to serve nonprofits. She is founder and CEO of Ascend Nonprofit & Business Solutions (NBS), LLC—one of the most sought-after grant writing firms.

 

Tuesday, May 10
Financials Story-Telling

Presented by Carolina Aponte

REGISTER HERE

Discover what an entrepreneur needs to know about financial statements, which financial statements you should use, what is your financial history and what lenders/investors are looking for.

Carolina is the founder of CAJA Holdings, LLC, an outsource accounting provider in North Carolina. She is the author of Pave Your Own Way: Thirteen Skills To Create Your Professional Success. Carolina is the recipient of the Latin American Businesswoman 2012 Award in Charlotte, 2017 NAWBO Charlotte Rising Star Award and 2021 NAWBO Charlotte Woman Business Owner of the Year.

 

Tuesday, May 24
The Key to Vitality, Clear Thinking and Positive Moods

Presented by Dr. Leslie Kasanoff

REGISTER HERE

It’s a myth that you have little control over your health. Learn that healthy people aren’t just lucky, and the steps you can take to begin to restore your clarity of thought and your overall vitality. 

  Dr. Leslie has spent her life in healthcare, including 25 years as a holistic chiropractor on the Central Coast of California and 10 years before that as a medical laboratory scientist. Over the past couple of years, Dr. Leslie has been combining her science knowledge and her holistic and nutrition expertise in health coaching.

 

June 14
The Changing Workplace; How to Drive Engagement

Presented by Dana Vogelmeier 

REGISTER HERE

Gain a complete assessment of your current workplace, current variables that are great and you want to keep; what you need to change and an expectation of the type of workplace you are trying to create.

Dana launched Vogelmeier Consulting in 2018 after working over 30 years for a Fortune 50 company. During her tenure, she worked for more than 25 years leading diverse teams and working for different types of leaders with their own unique styles. She began examining the teams she led and the leaders she worked with to determine the differences. Some were great, energizing, engaging, magical teams. She wants everyone to work for a company that they can’t imagine leaving and to feel engaged and fulfilled at the end of the day.

  


 

Community Connects Events

Every other Wednesday at 2 p.m. PT/4 p.m. CT/5 p.m. ET

Next up:

Wednesday, April 27
Wednesday, May 11
Wednesday, May 25
Wednesday, June 15

Join us on Zoom to meet other women business owners across the nation! We’ll connect, share best practices and support one another in an interactive format. This is a safe space to share since the calls are not recorded. Please introduce yourself as you participate. We welcome non-member guests to attend up to two times and then ask that you decide if NAWBO is the right community for you. We will have a 10-minute huddle after each Community Connects to answer any questions you may have about NAWBO membership.

JOIN ZOOM MEETING


 

Partner Events

SABF | Incorporating Credit Awareness Along Your Financial Journey

Thursday, April 28 at 4 p.m. PT/6 p.m. CT/7 p.m. ET

In honor of Financial Literacy Month, FICO's Score a Better Future program is hosting this national financial literacy-focused webinar. Join FICO Scores expert Julie Wooding, along with special guests, Freddie Mac’s Letania Gonzales and The Finance Bar’s Marsha Barnes, for a conversation on the importance of knowing the key components of personal finance. These experts will bust myths and offer practical tips to better understand credit, discuss how to navigate credit management during times of uncertainty and share what tools are available to empower you on your financial journey. In partnership with Operation HOPE, all registrants will have access to a free one-on-one credit coaching session from non-profit financial well-being coaches to help attendees develop a plan to address their financial goals.

REGISTER HERE

 

Perfecting the Sales Process and Mastering the Art of the Close

Tuesday, May 17 at 9 a.m. PT/11 a.m. CT/12 p.m. ET

Regardless of your industry or business size, having a strong sales process is one of the leading drivers for any successful, growing business and it’s a skill that many spend their entire life perfecting. Join Cultivate Advisors’ Brad Kreutz in a 60-minute workshop to learn how to set your business up for success during your sales process and master the art of the close. Discover how to plan your sales process accordingly and share the proper amount of information at the right time with your prospects; identify and embrace objections instead of seeing them as ‘not interested’; ask purposeful questions to help you identify if someone is ready to close; and adjust on the fly and close more deals.

REGISTER HERE


 

Membership Events

Member Orientation
For all members

Get to know the benefits of belonging, including events, programming and opportunities to increase your company’s visibility. This webinar provides best practices for how to get the most out of your NAWBO membership!

Thursday, April 28 at 10 a.m. PT/12 p.m. CT/1 p.m. ET

Register in advance for this meeting here.


 

The NAWBO Institute

Access additional education and webinar recordings on the Institute! Get a complete walkthrough of its offerings from Stephanie Guerre, NAWBO’s Cultivate Advisors relationship manager.

WATCH THE VIDEO

GO TO THE INSTITUTE  

Please note that NAWBO members will be asked to log in and then create a profile. Non-members must join or subscribe and then create a profile.