Chapter About | NAWBO

The National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) is the voice of America's 10.6 million women-owned businesses. Since 1975, NAWBO has helped women evolve their businesses by sharing resources and providing a single voice to shape economic and public policy.

NAWBO is a non-profit organization of more than 5,000 members that represents women business owners across all industries. NAWBO San Diego is one of about 60 chapters across the U.S.

NAWBO History

NAWBO traces its origin to a small group of Washington, DC businesswomen who began meeting informally in 1974 to talk about mutual experiences, exchange information and develop business skills. Recognizing the value of the group, they incorporated as the National Association of Women Business Owners on July 5, 1975. Two years later, they began recruiting members from across the country; in 1978, the first chapters were formed. The San Diego chapter has been in existence since 1991.

NAWBO propels women entrepreneurs into economic, social and political spheres of power worldwide by:

  • Strengthening the wealth-creating capacity of members and promoting economic development within the entrepreneurial community
  • Creating innovative and effective change in the business culture
  • Building strategic alliances, coalitions and affiliations
  • Transforming public policy and influencing opinion makers

Decisions about NAWBO San Diego operations are made by our volunteer Board of Directors, which meets monthly. The NAWBO year runs from July to June; members are invited to apply for Board positions in April of each year. 

Felena Hanson, Hera Hub

President Elect
Joan Maze, Life in Seven

Kathryn Busch-Guinn, California Bank & Trust

Kelly O'Hara, UPLIFT Accounting

Membership Director
Shawn Stout-Jough, Strategic HR Advisory

Membership Retention Director
Nikkie Achartz, Snap Savvy Strategies

Corporate Liaison
Nichole MacDonald, Sash

Advocacy Director
Jill Roughan, Sciencia Consulting

Program Director
Rosie Arango, The Bright App

Marketing Director
Debra Feinberg, Jumpstart San Diego

Sponsor Representation
Karen Harrison, Bank of America

Chapter Administrator
Helna Correll, San Diego Site Pros, Inc.

Our chapter is building a committee for Marketing, Programs, Advocacy and Sponsorship. Interested? Please email

2021 BRAVA Awards

NAWBO celebrated the achievements of female entrepreneurs at its LIVE broadcast award show on Thursday, October 28. Congratulations go out to our six BRAVA Award winners:

Woman Business Owner of the Year Award
Angel Mason Broadus, Puzzle Pieces Marketing

Women's Advocate of the Year Award
Samara Hakim, CulturGrit

Trailblazer Award
Rema Abedkader, Aparellel

Rising Star Award
Mehran Sorourian, Khoshhaulam

Resilience Award
Kelly O'Hara, Uplift Accounting

Corporate Leader Award
Michelle Vargas, Illumina

Click here to view the Announcement of Winners
Click here to view Full Finale
Click here to view Highlight of Winners (Coming soon...)

Click below to view past winners:

2020 BRAVA! Award Winners
2019 BRAVO! Award Winners
2018 BRAVO! Award Winners
2017 BRAVO! Award Winners
2016 BRAVO! Award Winners


Special thanks to those who made the 2021 BRAVA Awards possible!